St James the Greater is a vibrant place, a worshipping community which has much to offer people of all ages

The Church of St James the Greater, in the Diocese of Leicester, in the East Midlands, can be found just to the south of the centre of the City of Leicester, on the main A6, opposite Victoria Park.

With a design influenced by the great cathedral of Torcello in the Venetian lagoon, it was built between 1899 and 1914, to serve the expanding city of Leicester.

There is a thriving congregation, and the worship is varied, maintaining the best of the Anglican tradition, liturgically and musically, attracting people from all walks of life and from all over the county of Leicestershire and beyond.

The Vicar and the Ministry Team are here to offer support, advice and practical help at all the important times in family life.

Whether you want your baby baptised, a wedding service in church, need support when a death occurs, or just someone to talk to about the christian faith, the clergy are here to assist.

FORTHCOMING CONCERTS AT ST JAMES THE GREATER

A SPIRITUAL HOME FOR THE ARTS

The Gesualdo Six Saturday 3rd September, 2016

City of Leicester Singers Saturday 12th November, 2016

St James Cantata Choir Saturday 26th November, 2016

Ex Cathedra Tuesday 6th December, 2016

For more details, please see our Concert Booking page

The coming week

Tuesday 30th August, 2016

Wednesday 31st August, 2016

Thursday 1st September, 2016

Friday 2nd September, 2016

Saturday 3rd September, 2016

Concert: The Gesualdo Six

Sunday 4th September, 2016

16th Sunday after Pentecost (Trinity 15)

Monday 5th September, 2016

Tuesday 6th September, 2016

Show complete year

Site Information css 2.1 xhtml (strict)
View as: Desktop | Mobile