St James the Greater is a vibrant place, a worshipping community which has much to offer people of all ages

The Church of St James the Greater, in the Diocese of Leicester, in the East Midlands, can be found just to the south of the centre of the City of Leicester, on the main A6, opposite Victoria Park.

With a design influenced by the great cathedral of Torcello in the Venetian lagoon, it was built between 1899 and 1914, to serve the expanding city of Leicester.

There is a thriving congregation, and the worship is varied, maintaining the best of the Anglican tradition, liturgically and musically, attracting people from all walks of life and from all over the county of Leicestershire and beyond.

The Ministry Team are here to offer support, advice and practical help at all the important times in family life.

Whether you want your baby baptised, a wedding service in church, need support when a death occurs, or just someone to talk to about the christian faith, the clergy are here to assist.

FORTHCOMING CONCERTS AT ST JAMES THE GREATER

A SPIRITUAL HOME FOR THE ARTS

Leicestershire Chorale Friday 16th March, 2018

KoolGigs Family Concert Sunday 18th March, 2018

Leicester Bach Choir Saturday 24th March, 2018

KoolGigs Family Concert Sunday 29th April, 2018

City of Leicester Singers Saturday 12th May, 2018

Leicester Bach Choir Saturday 16th June, 2018

For more details, please see our Concert Booking page

The coming week

Wednesday 21st February, 2018

Thursday 22nd February, 2018

Friday 23rd February, 2018

Saturday 24th February, 2018

Sunday 25th February, 2018

2nd Sunday in Lent

Monday 26th February, 2018

Tuesday 27th February, 2018

Wednesday 28th February, 2018

Show complete year

Site Information css 2.1 xhtml (strict)
View as: Desktop | Mobile