St James the Greater is a vibrant place, a worshipping community which has much to offer people of all ages

The Church of St James the Greater, in the Diocese of Leicester, in the East Midlands, can be found just to the south of the centre of the City of Leicester, on the main A6, opposite Victoria Park.

With a design influenced by the great cathedral of Torcello in the Venetian lagoon, it was built between 1899 and 1914, to serve the expanding city of Leicester.

There is a thriving congregation, and the worship is varied, maintaining the best of the Anglican tradition, liturgically and musically, attracting people from all walks of life and from all over the county of Leicestershire and beyond.

FORTHCOMING CONCERTS AT ST JAMES THE GREATER

A SPIRITUAL HOME FOR THE ARTS

Osiligi Maasai Warrior Troupe Friday 16th October, 2015

St James Cantata Choir Saturday 31st October, 2015

City of Leicester Singers Saturday 14th November, 2015

Bach B Minor Mass Saturday 28th November, 2015

UoL Chamber Choir Saturday 5th December, 2015

Leicester Philharmonic Choir Thursday 17th December, 2015

Leicester Philharmonic Choir Saturday 16th April, 2016

For more details, please see our Concert Booking page

The coming week

Saturday 29th August, 2015

Sunday 30th August, 2015

14th Sunday after Pentecost (Trinity 13)

Weekly Leaflet

Monday 31st August, 2015

Tuesday 1st September, 2015

Wednesday 2nd September, 2015

Thursday 3rd September, 2015

Friday 4th September, 2015

Saturday 5th September, 2015

Show complete year

Latest News

Latest Quarterly Available ( 04/06/15 ) Annual Report ( 10/04/15 ) Lent 2 sermon ( 02/03/15 ) Latest Quarterly Available ( 25/02/15 ) Former Chorister Success ( 27/01/15 ) Car Parking ( 18/01/15 ) Latest Quarterly Available ( 01/12/14 )
See all news items

Site Information css 2.1 xhtml (strict)
View as: Desktop | Mobile