St James the Greater is a vibrant place, a worshipping community which has much to offer people of all ages

The Church of St James the Greater, in the Diocese of Leicester, in the East Midlands, can be found just to the south of the centre of the City of Leicester, on the main A6, opposite Victoria Park.

With a design influenced by the great cathedral of Torcello in the Venetian lagoon, it was built between 1899 and 1914, to serve the expanding city of Leicester.

There is a thriving congregation, and the worship is varied, maintaining the best of the Anglican tradition, liturgically and musically, attracting people from all walks of life and from all over the county of Leicestershire and beyond.

The Ministry Team are here to offer support, advice and practical help at all the important times in family life.

Whether you want your baby baptised, a wedding service in church, need support when a death occurs, or just someone to talk to about the christian faith, the clergy are here to assist.

FORTHCOMING CONCERTS AT ST JAMES THE GREATER

A SPIRITUAL HOME FOR THE ARTS

Leicester Philharmonic Choir Saturday 23rd March, 2019

Leicester Bach Choir Saturday 13th April, 2019

City of Leicester Singers Saturday 18th May, 2019

For more details, please see our Concert Booking page

The coming week

Saturday 23rd March, 2019

Concert: Leicester Philharmonic Choir

Sunday 24th March, 2019

3rd Sunday in Lent

Weekly Leaflet

Monday 25th March, 2019

The Annunciation

Tuesday 26th March, 2019

Wednesday 27th March, 2019

Thursday 28th March, 2019

Friday 29th March, 2019

Saturday 30th March, 2019

Show complete year

Site Information css 2.1 xhtml (strict)
View as: Desktop | Mobile