St James the Greater is a vibrant place, a worshipping community which has much to offer people of all ages

The Church of St James the Greater, in the Diocese of Leicester, in the East Midlands, can be found just to the south of the centre of the City of Leicester, on the main A6, opposite Victoria Park.

With a design influenced by the great cathedral of Torcello in the Venetian lagoon, it was built between 1899 and 1914, to serve the expanding city of Leicester.

There is a thriving congregation, and the worship is varied, maintaining the best of the Anglican tradition, liturgically and musically, attracting people from all walks of life and from all over the county of Leicestershire and beyond.

The Ministry Team are here to offer support, advice and practical help at all the important times in family life.

Whether you want your baby baptised, a wedding service in church, need support when a death occurs, or just someone to talk to about the christian faith, the clergy are here to assist.

FORTHCOMING CONCERTS AT ST JAMES THE GREATER

A SPIRITUAL HOME FOR THE ARTS

Leicester Philharmonic Choir Thursday 26th October, 2017

City of Leicester Singers Saturday 28th October, 2017

Leicester Bach Choir Saturday 25th November, 2017

Ex Cathedra Thursday 7th December, 2017

Leicester Philharmonic Choir Thursday 14th December, 2017

KoolGigs Family Concert Sunday 17th December, 2017

KoolGigs Family Concert Sunday 4th February, 2018

KoolGigs Family Concert Saturday 17th March, 2018

Leicester Bach Choir Saturday 24th March, 2018

KoolGigs Family Concert Sunday 29th April, 2018

Leicester Bach Choir Saturday 16th June, 2018

For more details, please see our Concert Booking page

The coming week

Tuesday 17th October, 2017

Wednesday 18th October, 2017

St Luke the Evangelist

Thursday 19th October, 2017

Friday 20th October, 2017

Saturday 21st October, 2017

Sunday 22nd October, 2017

Last Sunday after Pentecost

Monday 23rd October, 2017

Tuesday 24th October, 2017

Show complete year

Site Information css 2.1 xhtml (strict)
View as: Desktop | Mobile